Being A Team Player


Read this book recently :

It’s actually a gift from my boss and I must say, this book is awesome and I truly enjoyed every bit of it. I especially liked this golden quote from the book, ” You can lose with good player, but you CANNOT win without them.” Good choice and thanks boss!

Since young, I’ve never been a leader. As a matter of fact, I’m rather an introvert, nerdy and a person who lacks self-confidence, mainly because of my speech impediment (fortunately I’ve grown out of it), as I often find it hard to express myself and convey the message across. Hence, I’d hardly voluntered myself for anything.

I’m always better off as a team player rather than a leader. I believed I’m the type who strive to add value to the team and looking for various ways to contribute, instead of leading or managing people. Being low profile has always been my “virtue”, perhaps?

So, what are the 17 essential qualities of a team player?

1. Adaptable

~Blessed are the flexible, for they shall not be bent out of shape.~ Michael McGriff

2. Collaborative

~All your strength is in union, all your danger is in discord~ – Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

3. Committed

~Oridinary people with commitment can make an extraordinary impact on their world~ – John C.Maxwell

4. Communicative

~Think like a wise man, but communicate in the language of the people~ – William Butler Yeats

5. Competent

~People forget how fast you did a job, but they remember how well you did it~ – Howard W.Newton

6. Dependable

~Fear not those who argue but those who dodge~-Wolfram Von Eschenbach

7. Disciplined

~Discipline is the refining fire by which talent becomes ability~ – Roy L.Smith

8. Enlarging

~Most of us plateau when we lose the tension between where we are and where we ought to be~ – John Gardiner

9. Enthusiastic

~Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm~ – Ralph Waldo Emerson

10. Intentional

~Make every action count~ Anonymous

11. Mission Conscious

~The secret of success is constancy to purpose~ – Benjamin Disraeli

12. Prepared

~It’s better to prepare than repair~ – John C. Maxwell

13. Relational

~If you get along, others will go along~ – Anonymous

14. Self-improving

~Learn as if you were to live forever; live as if you were to die tomorrow~ – Anonymous

15. Selfless

~There is no I in team~ – Anonymous

16. Solution Oriented

~Don’t find fault; find a remedy~ – Henry Ford

17. Tenacious

~To finish first, you must finish~ – Rick Mears

I recommend this book to anyone who choose to become better teammates, and of course for leaders as well as it’s vital for them to be able to move back and forth between being a leader and a team player.

Leave a Reply

